How and why I got here... working with Kids with and without Disabilities

Here is a little about me:

I have been a Intern, a Teacher Apprentice, and have sat in ECE (early childhood education) classes, read books, and currently taking care of my nieces and nephew when they come over to play when they can. When I say "when they can", it is because they live in Colorado Springs. Oh yea, and I am two classes away from my third certificate in ECE, so I guess I am pretty good at what I do.

Putting child development aside, I have other plans to study and go into Human Development in four years from now. That means I will be transferring from where I go to school now at MiraCosta to Cal. Sate San Marcos. Don't get me wrong, I will still work with kids. As more as my schooling goes on, I find myself enjoying teaching kids. Before, I didn't. I guess because I was always in class studying about kids that I never really got a chance to work with them.

I work up in Oceanside at a inspiring place called TERI Campus Of Life. I work their every Saturday's now with the adults and every other Saturday with the kids. I LOVE IT! Working with these kids is so impacting and a humbling experience. I help them every week in respite care supporting and facilitating their needs. This couldn't be a better job for me. Come, take a tour of their campus and you will find out. I first came to TERI as a Volunteer and I am however remaining one until I work more hours their, that is why I am working as a volunteer every Saturday in the adult program as well as working with the kids. When I started at TERI, I was at my mom's birthday party and that when it all happened. My mom knew that I talked about working at TERI for some time now, so therefore she dicided to invite one of the people who works on the board with TERI. Her name is Sherri Nasim and at the party, we ended up meeting and talk